top of page

New Year, New me!


Hey guys! Happy New Year!

Hope you all had a good Christmas and that you got everything you wanted from Santa ...

2018 is here and it means New Year's Resolutions have started. I've made a few:-

1. to eat healthier

2. to try to do well in my first GCSE this year

3. to not rely on technology so much!

I am trying to eat at least 5 pieces of fruit and vegetables everyday which will keep me happy, healthy and bright and better able to concentrate on my school work, especially with exams later on this year. One way I've started to get a wider variety of different fruit into my system is by making up smoothies, with the help of my two younger sisters Anna and Olivia, packed with all of my family's favourite fruits. It is a delicious way for us to get all of our nutrients at once and have fun doing it together. We have tried many different smoothie recipes but this is our favourite one.

By the way, eating healthily does't have to break the bank either. We use frozen berries from the supermarket for smoothies or buy bags of fresh fruit from the market in bulk. (Leeds Market is fabulous for fresh food on a budget).

Ingredients: (for 5 people)

5 strawberries

1 frozen banana (peel before you freeze)

400ml apple juice (or any other fresh fruit juice)

2 tbs honey

5 tbs natural yogurt

1 kiwi (with or without the skin)

Optional:

50g blue berries

50g raspberries

Method:

Wash your hands,

Prepare your fruit by washing it well, chop the tops off the strawberries,

Chop and peel the kiwi,

Next place everything in a food processor or blender and blend until the desired consistency.

(You might need an adult to do this with you as can be messy but definitely fun.)

If you don't have a blender then you just need to mush it up with a potato masher. Even more fun!

Enjoy!

(Let us know if you have a try. I'll be adding more new ideas to try new healthy foods soon.)

From Emma

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page